01 f4i problem - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-12-2005, 06:54 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bogalusa, LA
Posts: 4
01 f4i problem

i just recently boughta 01 f4i. it has been wrecked and will not start now. bike turns over fine. the fuel pump is not coming on BUT i have wired it to make it pump and still no start. the bike is not really as bad as i thought it was gonna be. it went end over end. i know there is a sensor on the headlight, but if it is not hooked up will the bike start. anyone have any ideas about this.
bowlingballcbr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-12-2005, 07:57 AM
Registered User
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweetwater, TX, 79556
Posts: 8,798
Check for spark, and check to see if your injectors are operating.




-- Thats Just The Way I Roll

"Do what you can, with what you have, where you are".
-—Theodore Roosevelt

"In war there is no substitute for victory."
---Douglas MacArthur, General

"Beware of those in whom the urge to punish is strong".
---Johann Wolfgang Goethe


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vash is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-12-2005, 08:47 AM
Registered User
 
duessel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 2,911
Send a message via AIM to duessel
Is it throwing any codes on the FI light? Call a dealer and ask.
duessel is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-12-2005, 08:49 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bogalusa, LA
Posts: 4
well that is another Q i need to ask. the instrument cluster is broekn also. and would that need to be hooked up
bowlingballcbr is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-12-2005, 10:03 AM
Registered User
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweetwater, TX, 79556
Posts: 8,798
Not on kawis. But I cant say the same about hondas




-- Thats Just The Way I Roll

"Do what you can, with what you have, where you are".
-—Theodore Roosevelt

"In war there is no substitute for victory."
---Douglas MacArthur, General

"Beware of those in whom the urge to punish is strong".
---Johann Wolfgang Goethe


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vash is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-20-2006, 11:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Newport, MI 48166
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to gijoecam Send a message via Yahoo to gijoecam
Quote:
Originally posted by bowlingballcbr
well that is another Q i need to ask. the instrument cluster is broekn also. and would that need to be hooked up
Yuppers, there's the problem right there. The cluster needs to be connected for it to fire.

-Joe
gijoecam is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-20-2006, 01:56 PM
Registered User
 
decipral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Phoenix, Az 85029
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to decipral Send a message via Yahoo to decipral
GIjoecam is correct. I had an 01 f4i, the cluster nees to be connected and if I'm not mistakent the "tip over sensor" needs to be connected also. I bought my bike wrecked and rebuilt it. I ran out of funds and got deployed so it sat for nearly 2 years. Drained and refuled it and replaced the oil filter and oil and it started right up!
decipral is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2006, 04:02 PM
Registered User
 
sodamninsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Troy or East Lansing, MI
Posts: 237
Send a message via AIM to sodamninsane
you must have the BAS (Bank Angle Sensor) hooked up... and the cluster as well.. even if it doesn't work. there is an anti theft mechanism on f4i's and RR's i believe that won't let the bike start without it... check for spark... because I'm pretty sure that it's killing the electronic ignition at the ECU so it won't spark.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2003 CBR 600RR
-- OES Frame And Swing Arm Sliders
-- Speedzilla Signal Mirrors
-- DIY F/E
-- DIY Carbon Fiber Block off plates (Front signals and mirrors)
-- Stomp Grip Tank pad
-- GPR Damper
-- SS Braided lines w/ super blue fluid
-- G-Craft rear ressy
sodamninsane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome