Do K&N Filters Work??? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-15-2002, 03:09 PM Thread Starter

Do K&N Filters Work???

Has anybody installed a K&N Filter in a 95 or 96 F3? How do you like it....Notice any difference? Has anybody put their bike on a dyno before and after the change? I am looking at the jet kit and K&N Filter together, but I will only be installing the filter for now (money is ALWAYS a factor). I have a Factory 2 degree advance and a Vance and Hines slip on right now. Currently, the bike is running rich (pops on rapid deceleration and the exhaust is black at the exit). This problem is not too terrible and I can live with it. It is possibly due to the elevation here in the Reno/Tahoe NV area (4500 to 7500 ft). Would installing this filter help lean the bike out a little (or a lot) by getting more air to the engine? Let it all hang out here - if these filters are junk, let me know. If they rip, let me know too
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-15-2002, 03:48 PM

Don't expect much (anything)? The more sophisticated your intake system is from the factory, the less a K&N is gonna benefit your bike, if at all.
I have a K&N on my Concours, not because of any performance benefit (didn't notice any), but because my OEM filter split on both ends where the foam was glued together. Went with a K&N since it cost little/no more than the factory unit, and if the OEM split once, I see no reason to think it wouldn't do so again. The K&N is built much better than the OEM unit.