About ZX6R's - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-29-2001, 12:16 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via Yahoo to dudeman7
Question

Hey I have a question for all you kawasaki guys out there. I have some riding experience with dirt bikes when I was younger and I ride my some of my friends bikes often. I am also enrolled and will be taking the motorcycle saftey course in a couple of weeks. I want to buy a bike this summer and was wondering if I could get some advice on anything with the 98-00 model zx6r's. Any helpful info on prices, performane, and especially if this bike will fit me okay. I am about 6'4 and weigh around 210. The most comfortable bike I have ridden is a 98 F3, but I like the zx6r's way more. Any help is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-29-2001, 04:40 PM

Hey, Dude, here's what you want.
MSRP - 8099USD
Top speed - close onto 170mph
Wet weight - 434lbs.
HP ~98
The Kaw is known for being real-world comfortable. You'll want to get the next heavier grade of fork oil before you really start pushing it. I have sat on one, and they fit me fairly well, at 6'2" and 210lbs.
In a recently published comparision, the Kaw established a best lap time less than one second off the pace of the first-place Yamaha, and better than a second ahead of the f4 Honda. It is also a repeat champion of the Supersport 600cc drags.
Hope this helps you in deciding.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-29-2001, 04:41 PM

Thumbs up

Dudeman,

What can I say? I own one ('00 ZX-6R), and I love it!!! I've only had it now for about a month, but there are
several reasons I went it in the first place. It has (according to the mags) the smoothest, most powerful engines
of the current 600s, it has the best mix of performance/comfort, and hey! It won Cycle World's "Best Middleweight" for 2000! I don't think you can go wrong with the ZX-6R. I depends on what you want out of it.