Zx-7R question - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-2000, 01:37 AM Thread Starter

I am fairly new to sportbikes and I have been riding a little less than a year. I have been looking for a few months now to upgrade to a sportbike. I was mainly thinking of 600cc since they are less powerful, more forgiving, and easier to control, and the insurance would be reasonable.

Anyway, my question arises since there is a 1996 or 1997 (I'm not sure)Zx-7R at a local shop with about 8000 miles for about $5000 but the guy said he'll deal. The only reason that I bring this up is that I love the way it looks so much. I had been set on a 1999-00 Zx-6r or Honda F4 but this one is a looker.

So I am now very interesting in comparing the Zx-7r to the newer late model 600's in every way. I know that it is heavier but will this make it more difficult to ride? Is it faster? How does it handle? How about the reliability? Most importantly though, I wan to know if I should stick with a 600cc simply because I haven't been riding long. Is the Zx-7R a viable option I should consider or does it have too much power and less forgiveness than what I need. Any and all help would be appreciated.

------------------
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-2000, 04:36 AM

Get the ZX-7!! You'll thank me for it later!

------------------
95% of Harley Davidsons are still on the road today,
5% actually made it home!

Bryon Hart
Ocala, Fl
95 ZX-7
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-2000, 05:51 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for responding Wolfman and I know I like the way it looks but I really need some specific info here. This is going to be a big investment for me and I want to research all the pros and cons of any bike I might get. I'm particularly interested in how this bike compares with newer 600's in every way. Long posts are very welcome.

------------------