Everything possible from EX500 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-17-2003, 09:03 PM Thread Starter

Everything possible from EX500

I have an opportunity to grab am 89 ex500 for next to nothing. I've been riding a CBR 600 F3 for 2 yrs now, and I'm sure the power just aint the same. So, heres the question: how would y'all go about getting the EX up to par with the F3? Bore it, Turbo, or swap.... I've never worked on Kawi's, so any help is appreciated. (BTW, "buy a newer, faster bike" aint an option) TIA

Last edited by AR4CE; 01-15-2004 at 09:00 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-18-2003, 07:02 AM

Re: Everything possible from EX500

Quote:
Originally posted by AR4CE
I have an opportunity to grab am 89 ex500 for next to nothing. I've been riding a CBR 600 F3 for 2 yrs now, and I'm sure the power just aint the same. So, heres the question: how would y'all go about getting the EX up to par with the F3? Bore it, Turbo, or swap.... I've never worked on Kawi's, so any help is appreciated. (BTW, "buy a newer, faster bike" aint an option) TIA

Best bet would be to prepare for disappointment. The EX is nover going to be up to par with an F3. Give up now and just enjoy it for what it is.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-18-2003, 07:13 AM

What’s wrong with your F3???

You better off fixing the F3 or customize it because the EX500 is for beginners and you getting an EX over you F3 is going backwards. The EX is not even in the same class as a 600 sport bike like the F3. The EX it's not mad for performance and speed.

Or just get it cheep then sell both the F3 and EX and get a newer 600!

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-18-2003, 07:20 AM

EX mods

Well, I would suggest going down to your local Army surplus store and buying a JATO rocket to attach to that EX. That might get it up to par with the F3.