is this normal for ZX9R..... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-26-2003, 04:47 AM Thread Starter
jjp

is this normal for ZX9R.....

I'm new on this site and have questions for any and all new ZX9R owners. I have been riding for about 10 years now and just purchased a 2002 ZX9R new. I traded up from a 1999 ZX6R, which in my opinion was a hell of a lot quieter than my new rocket. Is this normal? I notice a very rythmic ticking at idle and at speed, which in all fairness sounds like it's doing what it's supposed to do. At startup I notice all kinds of noises from ticking to clacking to snaping. It goes away after a minute or so . I assume it quiets when the oil reaches the top of the head. Is this a correct assumption? My concerns are because I followed the breakin guidelines on this bike and all others i've owned and this one is just noisier than any of the others. Are ZX9R's normally this noisy? My ZX6R purred w/ no extraneous noise of any sort. One other question, is this bike cold natured or what? It does not like to start easy in the morning. Any opinons are certainly welcome and thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-26-2003, 05:20 AM

I know nothing of ZX9's BUT unless someone on here with knowledge (and there are several 9 devotees here too) disputes this I'd say get the valves checked. You said you did the break in but did you do the break in service that many bikes require?? A valve check after the first 500-1000 miles used to be routine although many new bikes don't require it today.