Wheely capabilities of a 93 katana 600 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 01:15 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to RyPkr_99
Wheely capabilities of a 93 katana 600

So this is my first bike and everything i read says its garbage for stunts. But it was cheap, a pretty good starter bike for me and not that big of a deal if it gets trashed. The previous owner has it geared snappier too. I don't know which sprocket was changed or how much but thats what he told me.

I am still new to this with just a tad over 4k miles under my belt. I will gear up, be in a safe spot and be cautious.

I've been doing wheelies for a while (relative) now and all I seem to be able to do is clutch it up in first. I'm pretty consistent at getting it to the BP and my best ride is probably about a half of block.

What I want to know is what is capable on this heavy ass bike? Could a good rider power it up in first? Should I even care if it could? Can it be clutched up in second? Is shifting gears to second while up a possibility or a stupid idea?

My best attempts at powering it up in first get me about a foot off the ground for about 5 yards. My best attempts at clutching it up in second is (I've tried at all different speeds) revving to the 13,500 redline, completely snapping the clutch out and ripping the throttle back open. All while sitting far, far back and upright. I'm guessing the bike is just incapable of coming up in second, or is it me?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 11:11 PM