cant get it up! - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2005, 07:54 PM Thread Starter

cant get it up!

my 95 gpz1100 will not wheelie. everytime I'll roll it up to about 7,000rpm and snap the throttle and not even a nudge. It just jolts me back. why wont that front wheel kiss the sky?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2005, 08:00 PM

I'm no expert since today was the first time I got my front end up, but what I do to get it up is roll on the throttle until I just start hitting the powerband (around 6-7k on my bike) then I quickly close the throttle, pull in the clutch with one finger then whack the throttle open to around 10k while popping the clutch. I still can't get it up every single time I try, but that's just because I'm not completely over the fear of hitting the throttle as hard as I need to.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2005, 10:01 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to BIMOTA RIDER
May I suggest a semester or two at "SQUID UNIVERSITY".
Just kiddin' man! I never really got the hang of poppin' wheelies, other than hole shots carrying the front wheel a foot off the ground for the first 75 feet or so. I had a friend who could carry it through all the gears. He would feather the clutch in second gear and up she would come ????? He was also on a GPz 1000. So it can be done.! I think BALLS and PRACTICE are the keys. Good Luck. -Tom

I have already forgotten......

more than..........????........

Damn, I forgot !!!!

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-02-2005, 11:24 AM

Talking wheelie

try this,,,, run the throttle up to about 6500 rpms.
quickly shut the throttle down to notta, then quickly snap it
back open again. MAKE SURE u cover the rear brake with your
foot. just in case......
yeeeeee haaaaaaa
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-02-2005, 11:55 AM