Advance Wheelie Question - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2005, 09:22 PM Thread Starter

Advance Wheelie Question

I have been riding for about 10 years and Wheelies are no problem for me, but I want to find out the details of what it takes to keep a stand up going for upto a mile. I always start in second and let it go to redline before puting it down. I have an 04 r1 which has plenty of power. I understand the balance point is key, but is second gear capable of this? Or is third gear the only way? Thanks for any knowledgeable help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-22-2005, 06:55 PM

try shifting....i can shift clutchlessly....helps a ton...but never measured the distance of my whooolies
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-23-2005, 04:33 AM

Re: Advance Wheelie Question

Quote:
Originally posted by cycleguy77
I have been riding for about 10 years and Wheelies are no problem for me, but I want to find out the details of what it takes to keep a stand up going for upto a mile. I always start in second and let it go to redline before puting it down. I have an 04 r1 which has plenty of power. I understand the balance point is key, but is second gear capable of this? Or is third gear the only way? Thanks for any knowledgeable help.
Balance point.. You need to get to the point where the bike feels weightless.. Yes 2nd gear is highly capible.. Just need to practice maybe get someone to take some pictures of how high you are so u can look at them.. I dont think ur high enough by the way it sounds.. Are you clutching or bouncing?

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 07:01 AM

there is no reason to ride a mile long wheelie unless its for a vid,or stunt show. oil starvation can and will occur on many bikes.this will lead to a blown or siezied motor and you being launched onto your head.
anything more than a couple blocks and you have proved your point.