When to stunt? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-07-2004, 12:19 PM Thread Starter

When to stunt?

Common theme. Ask for advice on a stunt and get a million responces saying that you need how to ride first. Most of the time I agree.
So here it is, i've been riding for about 2 years, a sport bike for the last year. The whole time I didnt own a car, so i rode throu rain, snow, and anything else nature felt like throwing my way.
now with summer creeping up I am starting to get the itch to polish my wheelie skills, and if that goes well maybe work on getting some stoppies going (dont ask me why, but stoppies actually scare me less).
So what do you think, am I ready, or am I ready to get my self killed?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-07-2004, 01:23 PM

Wanna know the answer? Go to an empty industrial park and practice! I'm not kidding: you will know if you are ready or not.

Yeah, it's going to scare the shit out of you at first, but try and get used to it. I would try stoppies first because of the laws of physics. You're trying to go slower when doing a stoppie. Imagine being in the middle of a wheelie and freaking out: your focus is on the throttle.....bad news.

Another little know secret is to find a new development that is being built. Go there once the workers have left. It's best when they have just put up the lot markings and haven't started construction. New subdivision in early phase = freshly paved roads and no traffic = awesome stunt practice.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-07-2004, 01:56 PM

Send a message via AIM to wantanaprilia
Quote:
Originally posted by wheelie123
Wanna know the answer? Go to an empty industrial park and practice! I'm not kidding: you will know if you are ready or not.