Standup wheelie harder?? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-05-2003, 04:29 PM Thread Starter

Standup wheelie harder??

I'm kinda new to wheelies...still learning. I can bring it up rocking it in first gear sometimes. When i do bring it up i can hold it for about 50-100ft.

It just seems like i can bring it up so much easier standing. The only problem is when it comes up i get scared as shit and drop it right back down.

Is it harder to hold up a wheelie standing up is the question.

btw, this is a 02 f4i

thanks,
sam
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-05-2003, 06:38 PM

It depends on rider (weight, etc), size of balls, and bike. I personally don't recommend stand-ups both for a beginner and in first gear. First gear is where the most torque is and it's just too easy to loop it. If you want a nightmare story on why you don't want to loop it: a professional stunter in FL looped his bike (GSXR1000) so hard that when they went to see his wreck, all they saw in his helmet were skull and brains........not pretty and definitely sad.

Learn sit-downs first and then move to stand-ups. Standing should only be done in second on. Once you get good, then do stand-ups in first.

Besides, all of those stand-ups you're ending early are killing your forks and seals.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-05-2003, 10:10 PM Thread Starter

Whoaa. Forget the standups for now then. Dang.

I tried bringing it up in 2nd gear but it just wont come up. I take it to about 25-30mph in 2nd then rev it to like 8k and drop the clutch but nothing. Front wheel doesnt even feel close to coming off the ground.

thanks for the help

sam

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-06-2003, 03:42 AM

Man lay off of them you sound a bit too green for the tricks your trying.