Wheel polishing - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-24-2003, 01:09 PM Thread Starter

Cool Wheel polishing

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here and was wondering if anyone has a guide to polishing wheels as I'm thinking about doing mine now it's winter. I've read a couple of posts on the subject but cannot find a detailed guide as to how you go about it. Can anyone help me out here as I'm a bit wary in case something goes tits up and I have to lash out for a new wheel.
Any help will be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-29-2003, 03:18 PM

Heres the deal...

1. Clean the wheel very well, the cleaner the wheel the better it will strip. Personally I used a rag with gas.

2. Tape off the center and spokes of the wheel as well as the tire.

3. Brush on the aircraft stripper to the areas you would like to remove the paint. (Personally I just did the lips of my 01 f4i, I have been told the center and spokes are much more difficult)

4. Allow the stripper to work, I think it is like 15 min to set-up. Just read the instructions on the can.

5. Srape \ Wipe the paint off the wheel

6. Polish with whatever polish floats your boat. I used a Megeurs buffing compound I had left from my car grooming days. However, Mothers polish seems to be the polish I hear of guys using primarily.

Notes:

First, I was under the impression this would be easier to do than it actually was based on what i had read on forums like this. Not to scare you away but plan on working on it for a few hours a wheel. Also, plan on having to apply the stripper multiple times to get all the paint off.