748..is it worth the sacrafice? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-21-2003, 05:51 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to Ricerun01
748..is it worth the sacrafice?

I have been riding for several years...only japanese bikes. I have built several from frame/engine only but I have no experience with Ducati. An oppertunity has presented itself for a 2000 Ducati 748 or 749, need look at bike again, cannot rememeber engine type, with 12k mi. Can someone give me a relatively unbiased opinion? Is the bike worth the extra $$? Stopped by dealership yesterday for second time in a couple days, so dealer is getting wise to my interest. Is it worth giving up my VTR1000?

"Do not let great ambitions overshadow small success." -The same fortune I got in a cookie in NY and KY...must mean something.

"Droning periods of mediocrity followed by flashes of brilliance."

"To be mediocre is to be cursed." -unknown
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-21-2003, 06:34 AM
elo

Send a message via Yahoo to elo
The 749 is new for 2003, so it's a 748. Conveniently, Ducati names it's bikes after their cc's, so the motor is 748cc's.
I've not ridden a 748 but I do know that you'll be giving up quite a bit of hp going from a 1000cc twin to a 748cc twin.

The main tradeoff is that the Duc actually has suspension.

Most people will tell you it's not worth it with higher maintenance, higher repair costs, less power etc. Unless of course they are Ducatista, then they'll tell you that you'll love the 748 and never look back. In honesty there's no way to determine for someone else if it's worth it or not.

This is coming from someone who owns an Aprilia RSV Mille despite the above drawbacks, and it's chosen over the RC51, TLs and TLr.

Erica

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-Your one stop source for all things pocketbike!