cash for new bike - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 11:12 PM Thread Starter

cash for new bike

In about 3 weeks I plan to purchase a new Honda 1000RR . I'll be paying cash-will that help me with the price? Can I go to a dealership in the country and get a better price than the city? This is my first time buying a new bike, and I don't want to get screwed. Any tips?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-03-2008, 02:23 AM

I would say you should get better prices with a city dealership and get quotes from the sales people. Make sure you say you are shopping around to see what your options are, let the seeds of doubt brew over 4 days and you should see some nice offers or counter offers. Paying in cash does help a bit, but the price margins on motorbikes are so thin, don't expect thousands and thousands off the sticker price.

Even if you had a perfect credit score, low liability, 35+ years of age and paid in green backs, you still are only looking at maybe 1000 off the MSRP on a new new model 1000RR, specially a flagship model like the RR's. 1500 max. You can wait for the 2009 models and get a clearance price for the 08's, but again, don't expect too much off maybe another 500 off. They would most likely add other things in the deal like helmets, jackets, and tires.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-04-2008, 10:52 PM

Send a message via AIM to duessel