Bike Height for proper foot placement - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-07-2008, 04:08 AM Thread Starter

Bike Height for proper foot placement

Okay, I'm fairly new to riding. I have a 2006 Kawi ZZR 600, which I'm trading in for a 2008 Suzuki GSXR750. I had the ZZR lowered a few inches so I could flat foot it at a stop (I'm about 5'2 - 5'3). I sat on a GSXR600 (which is the same seat height as a 750 - according to Suzuki.com) and the balls of my feet are on the ground (not tip-toeing). I'm debating if I should have the new one lowered as well. My riding experience has been last season & I took the Learn to Ride course. My main purpose for the bike is because I love riding - and the wonderful gas prices; I'm not in to stunts/tricks. Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-07-2008, 04:21 AM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht
I always advise against lowering bikes because of the negative effect it has on handling. They come from the factory set up pretty well, and the only tweaking you should have to do is setting it up for your weight. But if you lower it, it will not handle the same in the twisties. That's not to say you won't be able to have fun on it, but consider yourself cautioned.

I have an '05 Gixxer 600 and I can't flat foot on it unless I'm against the tank, which gets uncomfortable. But I'm to the point where 95% of my stops I don't even put my left down. The only exception would be on hills, or where there is gravel or sand and I want to keep both feet down in case the rear tries to break loose starting off.

Now since you say you are new to riding, do you think you are ready for the power of a GSX-R750? That's a pretty potent bike. Just be careful and consider putting some more time in on your current bike until things like flat-footing aren't a concern.