first crash - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-23-2008, 10:41 AM Thread Starter

first crash

I went down for the first time, I started riding last year sept and I continue riding in the winter to build my skills. I rode in 19 degree f to go to work. My girl had my car at the time because her car was in the shop.

I went down in the morning on my way to work. The temp was around 37f but it was much colder because of the windchill factor. I left the bike in the driveway for the first time. I am thinking the cold over night wind got deep into the tires (just my hypothesis). I heated up the tire and proceeded on my way to work. I stop fine at the first stop sign. While I was approaching the first redlight and I decide to press the rear brakes hard to feel how well it would grip. This is a common practice I do to get a idea of how the back wheel is. I waited for the light to turn green. I took off ok and I cross the intersection. I lean the bike slightly and I am pretty sure I straighten it first before I apply some more throttle. The back wheel went to the right then to the left and then throw me off the bike. I landed on my back and slided and rolled. I saw the bike sliding toward me so I continue to roll some more. I got up immediately and went to hit the kill switch on the bike but it cut off before I could get to it.