newb Gear selections - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 01-03-2008, 11:58 AM Thread Starter

Unhappy newb Gear selections

Hi,
I'm a complete newb and havent ridden a street bike.
I've ridden a dirt bike like 4 years ago.

I'm trying to learn how to change gears before I go physically try it.

When upshifting to a higher gear do I have to press the clutch in?
What about for low rpm/low speeds? What about for High rpms?

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 01-03-2008, 12:46 PM
Resident Smart Ass!

Send a message via AIM to Jester Send a message via Yahoo to Jester
Yes, use the clutch. once you get good enough, the RPM's will barely go down when you shift.

Help control the squid population, have your squid spayed or neutered

"it's not the smart ass behavior that gets to me... it's the dumb ass behavior that is a problem..." -Quote from my Aunt.

Only motorcycle riders understand why dogs stick their head out of car windows.
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 01-03-2008, 01:07 PM

You really should get back out in the dirt for awhile and then take an MSF before considering a streetbike.

Just my opinion..

post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 01-03-2008, 01:12 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
"It's like Dancing sitting down. Squeeze-tap-release-twist. Left hand-right foot-left hand-right hand"
Shouldnt that be"

"It's like Dancing sitting down. Squeeze-tap-release-twist. Left hand- LEFT foot-left hand-right hand"

I mean.. left foot IS the gear foot correct????
thanks

Last edited by ezrollin; 01-03-2008 at 01:23 PM.
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 01-03-2008, 01:15 PM
Resident Smart Ass!

Send a message via AIM to Jester Send a message via Yahoo to Jester
Correct.
Right hand - Front brake
Right foot - Rear brake
Left hand - Clutch
Left foot - Gear selector
Ass - Seat Gripper

Help control the squid population, have your squid spayed or neutered