Down I went! - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-08-2006, 11:12 AM Thread Starter

Thumbs down Down I went!

Some bad luck plus some good luck equals a bruised knee, some lightly scratched fairings, and misaligned steering. Here's what happened:

I went down to Malibu with some friends, and we decided to hit up Latigo Canyon Rd off of Pacific Coast Hwy. We got on it, and stopped at the very base. The guy that was organising the whole thing set us up into groups. Total noobs in front, and those who'd been in canyons before in the back. I was put into second-to-last place in line (I successfully scraped pegs [unintentionally] at Pallomar and survived, so I guess my ego was a bit bloated). And so we were off! We were going pretty slow, and the road was VERY mildly twisty. I thought we were there because the roads were like that, due to the new people. When the first sharp turn comes around, it catches me totally off guard. I guess the guy in front of me slowed down to let the others get ahead so we could have some space to twist the throttle a little bit. He went through the turn fine, but I went in way too fast for my own good. I lift my ass off the seat, scoot it over as far as I can, lean my body in the same direction, and start scraping my pegs. I'm still however going off the road. The scraping doesn't help, because that just scares me and I turn less to not scrape (natural reaction). By that time, I realise that I'm gonna go off, and I don't really know what did then. So that's the bad luck part. Here's the good luck part: the outside of the turn was a steep hill (going upwards, not a cliff) covered in soft dirt and green vegitation. so I kinda slam into the softness and the bike on top of me. The guy in front and the guy in back of me both stop to come help me out. We pick the bike off of me, make sure I'm alright, look the bike over (the front turn signal looked broken, but it turn