safety course - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-26-2006, 09:30 PM Thread Starter

safety course

I bought my first bike in january, and it's getting inspected as i'm typing. i thought about taking a safety course, for the simple reason of being licensed. is the class worth the time or should i just schedule a license test? i have about 8 years dirt bike experience, but only about 2 hours sportbike experience. is there really anything i could learn that i wouldn't learn with practice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-26-2006, 09:33 PM

Hi want2ride-

The extra practice during a safety course will certainly assist you in passing any state-administered roadtests.

~ Blue Jays ~
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-26-2006, 09:35 PM

Not only will you learn, but you'll learn the right way first. You can learn through trial and error, but you never know which error will be the last one. Just remember, the rider coach is there to help you, not argue with you. Dirt bike experience helps, but the class will help you get a feel for your new bike. So my recommendation is to take the course. Congrats on the bike and good luck with the class.

John B.
I could stop if I wanted to.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-27-2006, 02:37 AM

out in california they call it the "msf' class... i took it and it cost me 198.00 bucks. but i was new at riding.... so i thought i could use all the help i could get. i just loved it !! and i passed !!! and after ya pass you can get a better deal on insurance !! the only sad thing about the class i was in " the standerds" arnt set to high !! this girl droped her bike 3 times... and she still passed. but i still think the class is an A+....... bulldogboogers
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-27-2006, 04:48 AM