what kind of riding gear do you like? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-05-2005, 10:57 AM Thread Starter

Question what kind of riding gear do you like?

I'm new to sportbike riding and would like some advice on what types of protective clothing work for you the best and why. I love leather, but lets face it.... in the summer you won't find me with my jacket & chaps! I want something versatile like all weather type gear. I looked at some joe rocket jackets that are perferated & made of this nylon stuff. They had a million zippers and all the protection, but they aren't leather. anyone know of a good leather jacket that has good ventilation & padding?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-05-2005, 12:34 PM

Frank Thomas makes some nice leather suits. I have one and it has enough ventilation (jacket atleast) for 80 weather. But as for all leathers, when your at a stop light or waiting in traffic, it'll heat up very very fast.

I say find a good textile jacket like joe rocket and when it becomes colder, just add a liner inside. When you do shop, wear something bulky underneth like a sweater so you can have that option to wear when riding.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-05-2005, 01:55 PM

I have MotoGP leather jacket, pants, and gloves. A little bit expensive, but they are top quality. Arai helmets are very good, and I have Gearne boots. The boots are very good for the price, however my next boots will be Sidi.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-05-2005, 06:22 PM

In the summer here it's around 100 every day. I haven't tried riding in leathers, but even fully breathable textile mesh pants/air-flow cordura jacket is WAY too hot unless you're going at least 40 mph or so. Even at speed, I'm still sweating, just not as badly. I know everybody says to use leathers, but I think I would be at more risk of heat stroke and dehydration than anything else in full gear.