Welcome to ride with strangers? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 01:19 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to RyPkr_99
Welcome to ride with strangers?

I'm new to this am wondering what you guys would think of something joining up in a ride of a bunch of other bikes. I've done it maybe twice but am never sure if I'm welcome or not so just leave, but it seems so fun to ride with a bunch of other sportbikes.

I got behind two bikes a week or two ago and the both slowed down to about 10 under, rode abreast, and dropped their left hand down like the wave and kept it there. I didn't know if they wanted me to pass them and not ride with them or what.

My bike is older so I don't want to crash anybodys cool ass ride by having a lame bike there. Just wondering what you guys would think of it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 01:23 PM

If they are riding the pace then i normally keep my distance but yet ride with them.. The minute they slow down is when i pass them and ride my own ride..

Just depends on the sisuation..

I rode with 2 harleys that i hooked up with today.. I knew they were gonna slow down a little too much for my pace in the corners so i ended up passing them before we entered the first corner..
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 03:36 PM

It really depends on the riders. If I see a bunch of guys on brand new sportbikes with t shirts and stuff, I stay far far away.

Guys (or gals for that matter) that look like they know what they're doing, I would probably ride with. By that I mean riders with good form, well worn bikes, wearing full gear like aerostich suits and all that.

Just be careful about who you pick and choose to ride with.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 04:00 PM

STAY AWAY FROM ME. Just kidding.