Newbie looking for advice... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-23-2000, 09:46 PM Thread Starter

Talking

Hey all,

Ok... i'm TOTALLY new to sportbiking but i'm REALLY anxious to get into it!
First off, I don't even know how to ride one =) Anyone know where in the Bay Area, CA (anywhere between Daly City and San Mateo) I can take biking lessons?
Secondly, what's a good used starter sportbike? The ones I see mostly are CBRs and Ninjas. Is it safe to say that i should stick w/ the 600cc bikes for a start? Also, someone told me that 25K is high mileage for bikes... is this true? Am I unrealistic to think I can find a good bike in the Bay Area for 2-3K dollars? I guess i'm trying to narrow down my search for a fairly inexpensive, used, but reliable bike which would probably see at least 50-75 miles per day.
You guys probably get these silly questions often but i'd REALLY appreaciate ANY advice anyone can offer =) Thanks in advance!

Deo

------------------
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-24-2000, 09:33 AM

Thumbs up

Welcome Deo! First of all take the MSF course and use their bike. Then, once you totally love the sport you can go looking for a bike with money in your pocket and lust in your heart!

You CAN find a nice used bike for 2-3k easily. IMO, mileage on a bike really doesnt matter; I would only care about the condition of the bike and having it checked out by a professional. If you're asking for personal choices for a first bike, mine would be: Kawi. EX500, or a Honda CBR600 (either a F2, F3, or maybe a Hurricane) Although if you find a really nice Hurricane, I want to buy it from you to restore.

------------------
Kyle J.-
email:[email protected]

"Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has many -- not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some."
-- Charles Dickens
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-24-2000, 10:38 AM

Talking