Newbie here, need advice - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-28-2000, 09:33 AM Thread Starter

Smile

Hey all, I've been lurking on the boards here for a while, checking things out. I'm going to get a bike in the next few months, and had a few questions. You guys all seem pretty helpful, so here goes..

My info:
I'm 26, 6'1", 160lbs. Live in LA. (feel like I'm placing a singles ad) I plan on taking things very slowly in terms of my riding abilities, and have no illusions about popping wheelies or doing 120mph anywhere. Very conservative stuff. I've been riding dirt bikes quite a bit, but never even sat on a sportbike.
I'd like to spend $2k - $3k on a new bike, plus gear.

Questions:
Size - I was looking at a Ninja 250, but this board convinced me to up to an EX500 or a 600 something. I'd like to eventually be able to take my girlfriend on the back of the bike and cruise around. Is a 250 out of the question?

Honda or Kawasaki - Give the size (250 - 600) and my $$, I'm looking at Ninjas and CBRs. Also, what about a Seca? They seem inexpensive, any thoughts?

Shipping - I might look in Phoenix too (I'm there alot). Anyone know what it takes to ship a bike between states? Cost, Time, etc.?

Miles - How many is too many? Most of the ads I've seen for used bikes are around 14k to 20k. Is this alot for a bike that's a few years old? For cars, people put on 10k to 14k miles a year, for bikes I really have no frame of reference.

Thanks in advance!

------------------
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-28-2000, 09:37 AM Thread Starter

Ok, I just read the post below about the Seca, so forget that part...

------------------
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-28-2000, 09:41 AM

Thumbs up