I almost died today...u? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 55 (permalink) Old 06-19-2000, 08:17 PM Thread Starter

I've had plenty of "near death" experiences, one sticks out in my memory- riding in SE Oh. (of course), I'm leaned over nicely in a 60-70 mph left turn, my tires are near the right side of the lane, so my head is well inside my lane. As I come up a blind rise, a yokel in a 4X4 comes over the rise a good 2 feet into my lane. I did not change my line; tilting my head to the right was enough to (just) miss his mirror. Yikes!

------------------
'98 Superhawk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 55 (permalink) Old 06-19-2000, 08:39 PM

It reminds me of Indiana Jones & the last crusade, at the end, when Indy has his fingers on the Grail, and his father is losing his grip on him. Sean Connery says "Indy. Let it go." Sometimes you just have to pass on the most tempting situations. The payoff is twofold - 1) It gives you an excuse to turn around and have another go at it, and 2) You get to live. Riding is one of the few times in life that your life is completely in your own hands, as is the responsibilty for that life. If I ever let some damn fool hit me, I'll blame myself for allowing it to happen. Nothing like fear to renew your appreciation of life, is there?

------------------
post #3 of 55 (permalink) Old 06-20-2000, 06:47 AM

Red face

Here's one for the "I need to kick my own ass" notebook.

I rode my bike to work today. I work in Cleveland, and there are the Cleveland Metroparks about 5min. away from work. Today, on lunch, I went out to ride and met another rider in the parking lot, asked him if he wanted to cruise, and we headed for the park.

As we entered the park, it was kind of boring, but about 5min. into it the twisties started. Problem: too much traffic traveling the same way we were. Remedy: pass traffic so we can fully enjoy twisties.