Upshifting...Do you use Clutch????? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 09:40 PM Thread Starter

Upshifting...Do you use Clutch?????

I was reading an article in this M/C magazine and it said that it's better NOT to use the clutch when you are upshiting when you are on the race track. I was wondering can this be done with a regular bike and would it hurt the bike at all. Im a newb so i just wanted to know should i do this when i get my bike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 10:28 PM

I do it all the time. There is no reason that you shouldnt be able to do it on other bikes. All the bike needs to have is a 'close ratio transmission' (it'll say in the owners manual when it talks about the transmission).
For my 1000RR you have to be accelerating at a fair clip, chop the throttle pretty much all the way, shift, return throttle and accelerate. Takes me about 1/4 of a second. Shifts so smoothly that alot of times except that I did the shift, I wouldnt know that the bike is in a higher gear.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-19-2004, 05:58 AM

Just don't do it on a tranny that has less then three thousand miles on it. Wait until everything is all settled in.

EDIT: Oh, and I always use the clutch, but I don't own a sportbike.

Last edited by torok; 07-19-2004 at 06:05 AM.

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-19-2004, 07:25 AM

We just went through this LAST WEEK!!! The clutch is there to be used. Take it from an old sod with 58 yrs of m/cing experience, ex-m/c mechanic & ex-owner of two m/c shops & managed a few others.

Present bikes are & Yamaha 600, Honda 929 & will have the addition of a Honda 954 in about a weeks time. Do not own cruisers, but was brought up on Harleys & Indians plus all the others in the late 40s & early 50s.