Thinking of switching to a sport bike. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-07-2004, 05:16 PM Thread Starter

Thinking of switching to a sport bike.

Here's my situation. I started riding a cruiser because it was my first bike and that was what was available. That was about 5 years ago and last winter I bought a Honda Shadow. I thought I liked cruisers, but I find that I'm really just trying to ride this thing like a sport bike, and the 52hp is starting to get to me. It's not really even that comfortable on long rides, and since my girlfriend has a car now and I rarely ride with a passenger my very last reason to keep riding cruisers is gone.

Anyway, since I am TOTALLY new to the sport bike scene, I was wondering if you guys could give me a rundown of my options. I don't have money, so it's gotta be something used I can buy with the earnings from a 2003 Shadow Sabre. Also, I'd like to not go from one extream to the other. In other words, let's keep my chin off the tank.

Right now I'm considering a CBR600. They look like great bikes and I love Honda.

I'm also pretty short and the high seat hights of sport bikes worry me a bit. So, lower seats are better.

What sucks is that I've never ridden one before and since it's summer, none of the dealers have any in for me to even find out if I like the damn things better then my Shadow. Oh well.

Any feedback is apreciated. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-07-2004, 08:35 PM