California edition bikes - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-06-2004, 05:15 PM Thread Starter

Question California edition bikes

Hey all... I've been looking into getting the SV650s... and was looking at the specs.... I noticed that the bikes that are sold in Cali... are down 5hp... is this for smog reasons?.... I'm stationed in Cali. but I'm a resident of Oregon... so I thought I could save myself some money and buy the bike in Oregon (no sales tax) and bring it down to Cali... but if it's not gonna pass the emissions test it's kinda pointless cause I need a California certificate to get a base pass .... I talked to the dealership and they said I could take delivery in Boom town Nevada... if need be but then I've still gotta take it back UP to Oregon to get it licensed and back down to base.... Also if the -5hp is because of emissions wouldn't that be fixed by putting on an aftermarket exhaust? if so would a slip on do it or would it have to be a full system?... quite a few questions I know... but I really do appreciate it

~B~
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-06-2004, 07:56 PM

If your DL is an Oregon lic..and your considered a Or. resident, then you shouldn't have any problems bring the bike to cali, or getting it reg'd...Now if you are a cali resident, with a CA. DL..then any bike you buy outta state, needs to have at least 7500 miles on the clock, and there's NO smog test...in most cases you can reg outta stae bikes here, as most of the DMV clerks aren't checking for mileage...You buys the bike, and takes your chances..

Old, Slow, but ...Smooth
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-06-2004, 08:03 PM Thread Starter