What Happened TO MY Fingers - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2003, 03:09 AM Thread Starter

What Happened TO MY Fingers

Hey! I live in Daytona Beach and as you know its biketoberfest. Anyways I have been riding for about 4 months now and I havent experienced this until now---on my left hand my ring finger and pinky feel FUZZY! WTF?? Its kinda like a numb feeling---who has experienced this---its kinda makin me nervous seeing that its been about 12 hours and it hasn't gone away---should i also take a rest from riding until full feeling comes back? GEKO
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2003, 03:36 AM

That happened to me when i first started riding, but never lasted 12 hours...
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2003, 07:24 AM

It should go away, swinging your arms in a circle for a few sec can sometimes help. Are you sure you've been drinking enough water latly?

James.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2003, 07:53 AM

Sounds like the symptoms of a pinched nerve.
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2003, 08:14 AM

Geko - Some of the nerves that control your fingers run beneath your palm. Putting excessive weight on this area while riding can pinch/deaden these nerves.

There are a couple things you can do: The first and most important is train yourself to always support your weight with your midsection and legs. That lets you be light on the grips, and the nerves won't get pinched in the first place. Problem Solved!!!

Second - Adjust the controls so your hands lay in as natural a position as possible. In particular: Loosen the pinch bolts on your levers and rotate them so the back of your arm and top of your hand form as straight an angle as possible when you are sitting on the bike in riding position. Same applies for feet: The foot controls should be *right* there - You shouldn't have to reach for them at all.