Hands become numb when riding. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-16-2003, 12:04 AM Thread Starter

Hands become numb when riding.

Since I've graduated to a 600 and currently have the ZX6-R, Im having problems with my gloves or else, my hands now.

If i ride with my gloves on, my whole hand (both of them) start to turn numb; like after 10 minutes of riding ( you know that feeling when you cut off blood to your hand for a long time )

IF I ride without my gloves, the numbness starts about maybe 30-40 minutes into a ride.

So, Im wondering what any of you experience this as well?

I've never had my hand turn numb like that when I rode my Ninja 250 and only started to feel this when I started riding the Ninja ZX6-R. The guy who I bought the bike from says he never had that problem, but then again, he was riding with a mis-positioned clutch..

So advice? My hands are tiny, and I dont have much "meat" on them. So is it the gloves? The handlebars? The grips?

Anything that would cause numbness?

To get an idea of how "tiny" I am, this is me on my ZX6-R

and I was also wondering if it had to with how i ride? I know its defnitely different than riding the 250 ( I didn't have to lean as much forward on the 250 since the tank is smaller ).

any advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-16-2003, 12:36 AM

First of all, are you old enough to have a DL? LOL!!!
You are tiny (and cute). Do you have a death grip on the bike? Do you possibly do anything at work or home that could keep your hands/wrists fatiqued and thus more prone to cramping/numbing?
Just some ideas!
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-16-2003, 01:24 AM