Tiwst of the Wrist DVD - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-14-2002, 09:38 PM Thread Starter
Resident Smart Ass!

Send a message via AIM to Jester Send a message via Yahoo to Jester
Thumbs up Tiwst of the Wrist DVD

Well, I got the Twist of the Wrist DVD yesterday, watched it last night and tried out what I learned today. Stinkin sweet is all I can say for it. Had one of, if not my best ride since I started riding.

I decided that I did not have to work until 1 that I would try what I learned, sooooooooooo here goes (Hope you like stories)...

I left the house around 10 and headed for the hills. Instead of my usual route I went a different one. Hauled arse through the twisties faster and more confident than ever before. Got 20 miles out of town and decided to go for more.

Hauled arse again up a hill into a sweeping left turn, got nice and close to the inside of the turn, see a Suburban coming my way pulling a travel trailer, the cage had those wide mirrors that extended out 3 feet on either side. Of course my head is aimed right for the mirror on the driver's side. Let off the throttle and pulled to the right, cleared it.

Got about 15 miles further and got into some tighter turns, went into a right hander and slowly drifted into the opposite lane a bit.. , got her fixed and back in my lane. Not 2 seconds later a cage came from the other way, that was a little too close.

Coming home I got on a nice looooooooong straight away, could not open it up though, to many cages. Got around them all, finally. Looked to the skies for and piggy choppers, none in site . Opened it up and tucked in behind the windscreen. I could not even hear the wind! All I heard and felt was the bike. The purr of the engine is a great thing when you hear it and feel it. Got her up to 120, then I got stuck behind more cages .