finally, I feel like a rider - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 05:33 AM Thread Starter

finally, I feel like a rider

so I have been riding for 2 years now. I felt up until yesterday like I had reached a level of riding and stalled there. I got Twist of the Wrist 2 last week, and yesterday went for a 400 mile ride on some of the best twisties in Washington state. I have ridden these same roads 5 times, and at times they had me scared sh*tless. I ride with two friends, one on a 86 Honda Hawk, the other on a 71 BMW. I have always fallen behind. And I was sick of it. With my bike vs. thiers, I should be kickin thier butts.

The first half of yesterdays ride was same as usual, I spent it trying to make the TOTW2 tactics second nature and muscle memory. I didn't fall too far back. But the ride home. we turned around and I just said "F*CK IT", let go of everything, stopped over thinking every corner, and just rode. I increased my corner speed by at least 10mph, was biting at the Hawks back tire the whole way back. I turned off the damn lean meter, and spanked that frikkin road. I have never felt so comfortable or had as much fun on a motorcycle. I couldn't sleep last night, just kept seeing those corners, leaned over hard, moving fast. I "get" it finally.

sorry to be so damn wordy, but I feel like I can finally ride a cycle. Not to worry, I don't feel like I was riding past my level, and got lucky. I think it was just like finally understanding, and everything fell into place.

To you guys in Washington, we were riding the east side of Mt. St. Helens all the way down to Carson, so you probably know the roads I'm talking about.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 06:15 AM