First Bike SV650 or ZR-7S???? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-2002, 07:44 AM Thread Starter

Talking First Bike SV650 or ZR-7S????

Hi all,

I am new to this form. And I am in the market for my firsrt street bike. I am stuck between the SV650 (not SV650s) or the ZR-7s. The main purpose for the use of the biek is to commute. I am 5'8'' tall and weigh 155#'s any feed back would be great on inline 4 VS. V-Twin.

Thanks,

Tony

Last edited by cigar76; 05-24-2002 at 07:46 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-2002, 10:26 AM

Either would fulfill the requirements of a commuter. The ZR7 has more room for add-on bags if you decide to take a weekend trip, as well as probably having better passenger accomodations. There is a wider range of aftermarket accessories to improve the performance of the SV, and the SV is probably a good bit lighter, which makes . I personally prefer 4s, but there is nothing wrong with modern twins. I'd say check insurance, and get the one which fits you best.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-2002, 11:40 AM

Don't know much about the ZR-7S except what is on Kawasaki's web site. From what I can tell:

+'s for sv650 include about 90 lbs lighter, water cooled, 6 speed, lots of aftermarket parts/accessories, lots of them in the SF Bay area, V-twin much easier to keep in power band, insurance probably cheaper due to smaller displacement, fun quotient

+'s for ZR-7S include standard fairing (you'd probably want to add an aftermarket one to a naked SV, several choices), luggage (as mentioned already)

The biggest drawback to the SV has been the soft front suspension especially for heavier riders. You will likely be OK until your riding becomes aggressive. The stock suspension is quite comfortable on the freeway.

Spend enough time at least sitting on each if you can't get test rides.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-2002, 01:28 PM