3rd Gear, 9500 RPM 130Mph - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-18-2002, 06:32 AM Thread Starter

Question 3rd Gear, 9500 RPM 130Mph

I HAD MY 1993 HONDA CBR900RR UP TO 130 IN 3RD GEAR AT 9500RPM THE OTHER DAY AND BACKED DOWN DUE TO COMING INTO TRAFFIC. I HAVE READ FROM MY OTHER POST THAT THIS BIKE HAS DYNO RESULTS OF 165 AND 170 TOP SPEED. MY QUESTION IS WITH STILL ROOM TO GO IN THIRD GEAR AND THREE MORE GEARS TO DO WOULD IT NOT DO A LOT MORE THAN 165 OR 170? I AM NEW TO SPORT BIKES, THIS BEING MY FIRST ONE AND I WANT TO KNOE FROM YOU GUYS. MY BIKE IS STOCK EVERYTHING, FROM THE FRONT TO BACK. STOCK EXAUST, WHEELS, AIR FILTER, AND EVERYTHING. GET BACK TO ME AND TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-18-2002, 08:34 AM

A) please turn off you're CAPS LOCK.

B) Don't believe everything you read. Some mags actually say there are better bikes out there than Honda.

C) Speedometers are notoriously inaccurate and almost always optimistic.

D) I don't know the to speed for a CBR900, but top speed is only for bragging purposes. BTW... mine IS faster than yours.

E) Welcome to the site.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-18-2002, 08:41 AM

Don't forget that in stock trim your bike probably won't pull redline in top gear.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-18-2002, 08:58 AM

Being new to sportbikes and starting off with a 900rr (Bad idea I think) The first thing I would buy is a good set of FULL LEATHERS!!!! If you have never ridden a bike before, take things slow, you don't need to be the fastest thing on the road. Take your time and learn rideing techniques. I have leathers for sale on EBAY check them out.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-18-2002, 09:42 AM

WIND RESISTANCE ---- why do you think they are using wind tunnels now?