Do You Sometimes Get Scared When Riding - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums
View Poll Results: After years of sportbike riding, do you STILL get scared at times??
I am always scared while riding 26 13.61%
I only get scared when I am tired and "out of focus" 61 31.94%
I am scared when I am on an unfamiliar road 76 39.79%
I never get scared on any road or under any circumstances 28 14.66%
Voters: 191. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-03-2002, 01:03 AM Thread Starter

Question Do You Sometimes Get Scared When Riding

I have been riding sportbikes for about 2 years now, and I have a quick question.... Does anyone still get scared at times while riding?

While riding, I sometimes start to panic if I "think" too much. Ya know, the "what if's" that pass through your head from time to time. i.e. "What if my tire blows, hell, I AM doing 100mph", "What if I pass out from the heat, will my bike drift into oncoming traffic", "what if I DIE while riding this damn thing?"

It does not happen often (mostly in heavy traffiic), but I sometimes find these thoughts passing through my head. I then start to panic, and pull over as soon as I am able to. Has anyone else experienced this? If so, how do you overcome your "fears". I think me having thoughts like this has kept me from doing "stupid and crazy" things, but it affects my "riding confidence" at times.

I know "fear" keeps you alert and focused, but it really sucks when you are riding with a group, and you fall behind because of these fears.

PLEASE DONT' LAUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just want to know if this is common among sportbike riders, or do I NEED MEDICATION FOR PANIC ATTACKS???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-03-2002, 03:16 AM