GSF600 to GSXR600 to GSX1300R - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-23-2002, 09:12 PM Thread Starter

GSF600 to GSXR600 to GSX1300R

With that thread title, I am just waiting to be flamed by the powers that be for being another [email protected] squid. I really am looking for guidance or sympathy. Began riding 19 months ago; started with the Bandit. I have experience in just about anything with an engine, so was anxious to move through the ranks. In high school, I was a private pilot and logged stick time in things from a Cessna 152 to a Sterman with the Red Barrons aero team; even some rotor wing time. Driven things from a Porsche 911 in SCCA to an M1A1 tank. I am used to things that move quickly and leave me with a near vertical learning curve. After reading all the reviews about the Bandit, I figured it to be best choice. Looking back now, I wish I had gotten a SVS. Put a little over 5,000mi on her between October and April. Had to do some time with Uncle Sam over the summer months, so did not touch a bike from May to August. Came home and jumped on chance to get a GSX-R600 in August. Put a little over 3,000mi on her from August to March. Noticing pattern? More days under 50 degrees than over. March, Lady Luck smiled upon me and I found myself with the oppertunity to get a GSX1300R. Did so. Now, about a month, over 1,000mi and 1 track day later, I find myself drueling over a SVS. Does this make sense to anyone? Has any of the older and wiser riders felt this? Despite the weight and power of the 'bus, I did well for my first track day. Suprised many I encountered on the track that that was my first time. And no, it was not based alone on the fact I was on a 'bus. My laps were respectful for a beginner. I am already signed up for another one in May. Does it make sense that I was envious of the 650's and 600's at the track? I am now seriously considering selling the 'bus and getting two sm