Tires? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-08-2001, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
Rio

Tires?

I was watching Speedvision today, and they were talking about the Dunlp 207RR. Which appearantly is race compound with street traction. I ride a 2001 R1, and I know I don't ride the bike anywhere near it's full potential. But would something like this be beneficial? The tread on my bike is getting pretty thin, and it will need new tires by next season. I've not experienced a problem with the stock tires that came on the bike, and I have no experiences with other brands to compare their performance to. To give you an idea of the roads I'm riding, I'm located in central Indiana. Nothing incredibly twisty, but we have our share of twisty country roads.

Also, what is a good tire pressure for the front and back tire? I've been reading between 30 and 36 psi is best. It also seems that people keep their front tire a bit lower in pressure than their rear tire. Is this for handling purposes?

As always, thank you for your input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-08-2001, 06:25 PM