Looking for a new bike....Busa or 12R?? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-24-2001, 09:42 AM Thread Starter

Looking for a new bike....Busa or 12R??

I've been pondering selling the 9R for a couple of months now. It's been a great bike and very fast since I've had the modifications done but I'm thinking of getting something a little bigger. I still want something sporty but comfortable as well. I have narrowed my choices down to the Busa and 12R. I know they are not superhandling bikes but I'm thinking they may do well on long trips as far as comfort goes. I have been to the dealerships and sat on both. Both seem to have more room than my 9.

I would like to get some feedback on what you guys think about these two bikes. I am normally very loyal to Team Green and have had nothing but great experiences with all the Kawasakis I've owned, but for some odd reason, I think the Busa is a good looking bike (I hope I don't offend any Kawasaki riders with that comment ).

From what I've read, both bikes are pretty close in the power and speed dept. Which do you think is the better handling bike. While my main goal may not be knee dragging anymore, I would like to know which bike would be better in that area if the need should ever arise. Is there anything I need to know about reliability with these two particular models that some of you may have come across by either personal experience or word of mouth.

Unfortunatley, my local dealer will not allow test rides and my current group of riding buddies does not include either of these two bikes so I will be relying heavily on what advice I get here.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-24-2001, 09:59 AM

Stick to Kawi, the busa looks like a pregnant guppy. The 12 is lighter and cheaper than the busa, and definitely is more sportier looking
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-24-2001, 10:17 AM Thread Starter