Next Bike? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-04-2001, 09:54 PM Thread Starter

Question Next Bike?

Hiyas all..I'm a bit of a newbie round here, and I just wanted some advice.
Im coming out of my manditory 250 restriction period and I'm ready for something with a little more boogie..
I need a bike I can commute to work on every day, but is still good for a blast in the twisty stuff. Fuel economy would be nice, (my current 250 does 340ks from a 13 litre tank) and I want something that I can put alot of miles on.
Short list includes Zx-6 2000, Cbr6 1999-2000, SV650s, VFR800 TRX 850 or maybe even an RS sprint.
I havent tried any of these bikes, but I did try a 929 and realised that I didn't need that much horsepower.
Anyone commute everyday on a ZX6 of CBR6? I just want to know if they are bearable in bumper to bumper traffic.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-05-2001, 02:37 AM

Well, your list includes several bikes that would pull your duty very well. You have listed a couple different "styles" of motorcycles, so if I were you, I would decide exactly what I wanted out of a motorcycle before my purchase. If it is a sportbike that you want, in my opinion, you really can't go wrong with any of the late model 600's. I just so happened to have owned a 2000 ZX-6R, and I Loved it. It was very comfortable, for a modern day sportbike, and was a blast to ride. With the ultra-smooth engine (no vibration) and the upright seating position, it would make a great commuter/weekend warrior.

Good Luck with the decision.....
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-05-2001, 03:52 AM

Decisions decisions, I think at the end of the day it's gonna come down to which feels best to sit on and look at cos all the bikes you mentioned will do exactly what you want honest Good luck

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-05-2001, 05:32 AM
Pete