Need help deciding on new tire... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-2001, 11:27 PM Thread Starter

Need help deciding on new tire...

There doesn't seem to be too many treads on oppinions of tires here. So here's my question. What should I get. My stock pilots are wearing down. I have almost 9000 km's on them. The rear has a slight flat spot and I recently had to get it plugged on a not so fun weekend road trip.

My front looks to be in surprisingly good shape so I don't want to change it just yet. I am open to trying another brand of tires though (just rear for now). I keep hearing how the pilots have such little feedback compared to 207's. This is what concerns me. I'm still pretty new at riding. I've only been at it for about 4 months now. I have put 9k on the bike in that 4 months, but I still don't lay the bike down that much. Because of the pilots lack of feedback I have no idea how far I can go. I don't want to become a statistic, but I would like to seem how far I can go on my F4.

I'm basically looking for a tire that will give me pretty good wear, but allow a newer rider to learn what a sport bike can do (comprimise between feedback and grip). Any suggestions? I've thought alot about 207's and battlax's (not sure which one though) and would still consider pilots if that is the best choice. Thanks in advance for your comments.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-22-2001, 05:38 AM