What should my revs be? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-19-2001, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

What should my revs be?

Hey... I'm new. I've been riding an '88 CBR-600 for a couple months now in a small town. The dude who had the bike before me must've been an idiot because he put a SuperTrapp exhaust on it (and not one of the new ones either) so it's pretty damn loud.
Anyway, I live in a small town, speed limits average 30/50kms and my speeds are 50/60km/h, I was just wondering what my revs should be like in these speeds. I can't really tell (and I'm not certain in my ability to tell) if I'm boggin the engine, so I just wanted to know what an average RPM would be at these speeds, I think I might be running a gear too high a lot just because of the sound of the bike (used to cars). Any help would be appreciated. Thx for your time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-19-2001, 07:06 PM

Your pipe, most likely, is a lot louder when you have your helmet on. I used to only have one helmet and when my girl rode, I made her wear it. Everytime I rode the bike without the helmet i used to get pissed. My pipe sounded like it was screaming and not that deep choppy popping I was used too. Sounded like a dueled out Chevy with the helmet and sounded like my 95 Tercel with the Helmet off LMAO

Then on the other hand, maybe you've heard the bike when someone else road it by you? As far as your revs, sorry I don't know much about the older CBRs. I just run my R6 where it's comfortable for me, Bike vibrates like crazy above 8K and a constant speed. I usualy ride between 6K and 7K. 1 or 2 downshifts from halling butt

Just be alert and ride safe...later
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-19-2001, 08:36 PM Thread Starter

Wow.