Some advice for a new rider. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-17-2001, 12:00 AM Thread Starter

Cool Some advice for a new rider.

Hey guys, im new to this fforum...and actually new to street bikes...Ive ridden dirtbikes for about 10 years or so and just recently started riding on the street. My friend has an older CBR 600 that he lets me borrow every now and then...anyways, on to my question....I live in the Mojave desert where we experience temp. extremes in the summer and winter months. Would you recomend a bike for an only means of transportation. I mean it rains once in a blue moon, and we sometimes get a tiny bit of ice in the winter but other than that its just plain hot. Ive been looking at CBR 900's (93-99). What can i do to prepare myself, and the bike for riding year round? Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-17-2001, 06:34 AM
Squidwannabe

www.msf-usa.org

Take the course. Get a smaller bike too.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-17-2001, 08:10 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by Squidwannabe
www.msf-usa.org

Take the course. Get a smaller bike too.
Sigh. Standard brainless intenet response to any newbie post, I'm afraid.

Squidwannabe, tell me something.... ...is your advice ALL that's needed for anyone to be a safe rider, or is there more to it than that? There is? Then why didn't you give a bit more in terms of advice?

How about you guys reading this? Is this really the only advice that we can give? I could care less if it's a good place to start; you've got more to say than just this, right?