Where does the term "squid" come from? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-25-2001, 11:59 AM Thread Starter

Question Where does the term "squid" come from?

What's up everyone, I'm pretty new to the world of sportbikes and I'm just getting around with the terminology "cage","Gixxer", but what I wanna know is where does the term "squid" come from? Why do they use that term as opposed to "cherry" or "fng" or somethin else? What characteristics make new guys to sportbikes alike to that of squid? What characteristics do the both share? How long does it take for a new rider to no longer be labeled a "squid"?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-25-2001, 12:13 PM

A thread on this topic circulated a couple of weeks ago. You might do a search for it.
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-25-2001, 12:33 PM

The term is used for someone who is an inexperienced(or just plain stupid) rider who consistently rides"over his head", or hasn't found his limits in just the right way yet (crash is imminent). It is commonly used for these nitwits you see riding sportbikes (or any bike for that matter) wearing t-shirts, shorts and tennis shoes and wheelying, burning out, and doing stoppies in traffic and generally riding like an idiot. You know, the ones that give all of us a bad name. It came from "squirrely kid".

post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-28-2001, 09:56 AM

There is more to it than just motorcycling. Paintballers have been using the term for a long time as well. Just as in motorcycling it has more than one definition.

Most common is a newbie whos parents bought him the best of everything and this gear makes him think he is the best player on the field.
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-28-2001, 11:16 AM