Next bike after SV 650 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-24-2001, 09:31 PM Thread Starter

Next bike after SV 650

I love my SV 650 so much. But I ride with my girlfreind alot and it really starts to lag with two passengers. I've been thinking about upgrading to either a GSX-R 750, or a 929rr. I'm just wondering if what you guys think, is that too big a step or should I get a 600 for awhile. Keep in mind I do alot of two up riding and I've been riding for 4 years now. Also any other suggestions for bikes that are good for two up. I know I want something more sport oreiented than the SV. Thanks guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-24-2001, 09:58 PM

Gixxer or 929 may be tough on the passenger. A VFR will have more power, but it may depend on you and your wifes combined weight. Think cbr 1100xx or kawasaki zx12r, both very sporty and with enough 'juice' for two !!
That new Fazer would work great also, just not as sporty as the others.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-25-2001, 08:52 AM

Re: Next bike after SV 650

Quote:
Originally posted by luckyguy19
I love my SV 650 so much. But I ride with my girlfreind alot and it really starts to lag with two passengers. I've been thinking about upgrading to either a GSX-R 750, or a 929rr.....
Two up? More sporty than an SV650?

Hayabusa!

2nd choice: 2001 Bandit 1200

Forget the GSXR750 for two up. You and your GF will hate the riding position. Plus, the motor will be weak 2 up. You gotta rev that motor to get it to go when carrying 2 people.

929 will be better than the GSXR750 two up. More comfortable too. But that bike is built more like a 600(with a near-liter motor) so it's small & narrow with a high passenger perch like the GSXR. Again, you & your GF probably won't like the comfort compared to the SV650..