an erased discussion - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2001, 10:44 PM Thread Starter

an erased discussion

Damn, all the newer stuff got erased when everything crashed, and I thought we were in the middle of a pretty good discussion.

That discussion was...should a rookie (as in NEVER ridden before) buy a 600. I said yes for myself, because I have enough willpower and reason to live to keep myself from punching it before I have PLENTY of experience. Plus, I'm a bigger guy, and if I bought anything smaller, I'd feel like I was riding my younger brother's Mongoose. I brought up that fact in another forum on another website (sorry, I didn't write down which) and they suggested buying a 900. But even I know that's not a good idea. So, again, what are everyone's thoughts about a "newbie" buying a used F3 or F4?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2001, 12:24 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to Fatman
An F3 or F4 would be fine, but I wouldn't buy anything that I was afraid to drop once or twice, If you've never ridden before it's best to get a beater and learn to ride first.

Build a man a fire, and he is warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he is warm for the rest of his life.

Everything I know I learned from killing smart people and eating their brains.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2001, 08:48 AM

Thumbs up

I agree a used 600 would be a good beginer bike especially in terms of performance. My only comment is dropping the bike even in a parking lot would be expensive. I would recommend a naked bike like a used Honda Hawk or an SV650 or even a used 750 standard.

Rick
VFR750

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2001, 09:05 AM