Hand cramps - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-08-2005, 10:26 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to Loud412
Hand cramps

I just started riding about 2 weeks ago, and I absolutly love it. The only real problem I'm experiancing is hand cramps. Mostly in my right hand but a little in my left also. Pain is localized to right where the thumb meets the rest of the hand. Just wondering if this is just newbee pain and my hands just have to get stronger, or if mabe my hand position is incorect. My right hand is usualy just my index and thumb on the grip with thte rest of my fingers on the brake.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-09-2005, 04:58 AM

Prolly cause of a death grip. Practice riding with your hands open on the grips and no weight on your hands. hold the throttle open with your thumb and forefinger. I'll rest my fingers on the controls. Helps to have a throttle lock or palm rest. But don't use them in traffic or in the twisties.

Also make sure your gloves fit well. Learn to use neutral at the stoplights and while waiting for your friends!

Vashes sponge example is pretty good. I think of a golf grip but that's another story.

Your body will adjust. Lifting weights, areobics, and balance will help with your riding.

A few ccs short of a full litre.

Last edited by mac020; 09-09-2005 at 05:20 AM.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-09-2005, 05:03 AM

There are two different cramps you are most likely to expirience. One is on your left hand, from working the clutch, which is something your hand isnt used to. There isnt much you can do about that one, just get used to it.